Why do you write poetry? – Michael Farrell

I asked a bunch of poets the above questions. I’ll put their answers on this blog until I run out or get distracted…

Michael Farrell says:

“klare [lanson - see Klare's answer here - ed.] mentioned poetry writes me & i subscribe to this theory yet i cant hold onto it (or it cant hold onto me) – theres always more than one reason to write, more than one theory of the process, though one may dominate for a time. the idea of entertainment is close to me in reality at the moment as i have a group of friends to read poems to – but while that may help me write, i dont think my poems are that different than those ive written during the many years when i havent had a group i belonged to. im letting myself be more spontaneous. but its never natural, its always art .. or at least a theory of..”

“pop music is such a big part of my poetics, that entertainment has necessarily always been in there .. though it wasnt till i read ohara that poetry was confirmed for me as an entertainment possibility. the first famous francis bacon – the cultural critic – said something about people doing what they can do best – what they can make their name at – fuck knows why but that ended up being poetry for me – im sure i couldve been a a quite good accountant – but would thatve satisfied my ego?”

“i think perhaps poetry is a sublimation of song for me – does that sound hyperreactionary? being too shy to let song out except on a page .. but theres a bit of folk/storytelling culture in there too.. why then arent my poems all simple lyrics or narratives? too many things to hide .. too much complexity to process .. ? it started when i read german expressionist drama .. remember i was only twenteen .. a good catholic country boy looking for the easiest way to go bad .. then i read joyce .. stein.. it all proceeded to blow my mind .. id read enough nme by then to know thats what i wanted to do .. i write poetry to blow peoples minds .. even if i have to get up their nose to do it .. & if i fail & if i fail every time .. maybe those failures are just preparation for the final ex(im?)plosion ..”

More answers soon. Stay tuned, or submit your own to adamford {TA} labyrinth {TOD} net {TOD} au.

About

Poet. Author. Beard. Daughters. Wife. Seven chickens. I break lawnmowers.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in why do you write poetry?

Leave a Reply

Like what you read?
Go off-blog with Adam's ebooks!


Man Bites Dog, Adam's novel about posties, poets, dobermans & Angela Lansbury is only $5!


Not Quite the Man for the Job, Adam's award-winning poetry collection, is also only $5!

Adam Ford is the author of the poetry books The Third Fruit is a Bird, Not Quite the Man for the Job and From My Head, the novel Man Bites Dog and the short story collection Heroes and Civilians.

He is the genius behind the cult-hit website Monkey Punch Dinosaur and the twitter novel Aramis Fox.

He also makes zines and comics. This is his website.

His email is ADAMFORD-escargot-LABYRINTH-full-stop-NET-full-stop-AU

This website was made on the traditional lands of the Jaara Jaara and the Wurundjeri peoples.

ta-wit ta-woo
Also I Write This Twitter Fiction Thing Called Aramis Fox

Join 788 other followers

Categories
Archives
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 788 other followers

