“I Hate Correcting Somebody, But Someone Has To.”

I got an email from John Tranter about my latest “Why Do You Write Poetry?” post on The Blue Corner.

From: John Tranter
To: me
Subject: Innumerate… and what it means.

Dear Adam,

I hate correcting somebody, but someone has to.

You write: “They answer in innumerate ways, as poets are wont to do.” I felt there was something wrong with that “innumerate”… it seemed related to “illiterate”. So I checked with a dictionary:

Innumerate: “Without a basic knowledge of mathematics and arithmetic”

You probably meant “Innumerable”: “Numerous, too many to be counted.”

John Tranter

Thanks to John.

I’ve contacted The Blue Corner and we’ll have things fixed up soon.

About

Poet. Author. Beard. Daughters. Wife. Seven chickens. I break lawnmowers.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in crappin' on about the inconsequential, lines I wish I'd written, new ways to procrastinate, the writing process, why do you write poetry?
2 comments on ““I Hate Correcting Somebody, But Someone Has To.”
  1. Ah well, as a poet, you’ve got to be happy John Tranter is reading you so closely!

  2. […] of this world and ask them why they do the thing they do that makes them poets. They answer in innumerable (thanks to John Tranter for picking up the misuse of “innumerate”) ways, as poets are […]

Leave a Reply

Like what you read?
Go off-blog with Adam's ebooks!


Man Bites Dog, Adam's novel about posties, poets, dobermans & Angela Lansbury is only $5!


Not Quite the Man for the Job, Adam's award-winning poetry collection, is also only $5!

Adam Ford is the author of the poetry books The Third Fruit is a Bird, Not Quite the Man for the Job and From My Head, the novel Man Bites Dog and the short story collection Heroes and Civilians.

He is the genius behind the cult-hit website Monkey Punch Dinosaur and the twitter novel Aramis Fox.

He also makes zines and comics. This is his website.

His email is ADAMFORD-escargot-LABYRINTH-full-stop-NET-full-stop-AU

This website was made on the traditional lands of the Jaara Jaara and the Wurundjeri peoples.

ta-wit ta-woo
Also I Write This Twitter Fiction Thing Called Aramis Fox

Join 789 other followers

Categories
Archives
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 789 other followers

