Published: Writers’ Other Jobs

It’s supposed to be what I’m good at, so it’s easier for me to get writing-related jobs than other kinds of jobs. All of my day jobs to date – bar my teenage stint at Kentucky Fried Chicken (back when they didn’t like to admit what the “F” stood for) and that summer when I was a security guard at the MCG Cricket Museum – have been either editorial or authorial jobs of one kind or another.

Couple weeks back I had something published in the Writers’ Other Jobs section of The Writers Bloc, a new site aiming to build community and give support to writers by drawing on the experience of other writers.

The WOJ section has some fun reads all about how people manage to juggle a vocation that doesn’t pay with work that does, but which also prevents you from practising your vocation. Well worth procrastinating at work with a flick thru the archives.

About

Poet. Author. Beard. Husband. Dad. Four chickens. Dog. Cat. I can sometimes fix my lawnmower.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in people who are nice enough to publish me, Published work
One comment on “Published: Writers’ Other Jobs
  1. dollyblogs says:

    Hi! I can identify. Went back to uni in my late twenties studied journalism, literature and then publishing, as I’d always had writing interests. Now work in a publishing role paid very little and leaving what feels like very little time for writing. I feel like the first time I’m going to have lots of spare time for writing is when I retire and I’m not even forty yet!

Leave a Reply

Like what you read?
Go off-blog with Adam's ebooks!


Heroes And Civilians, featuring Stories about superheroes, octuplets, giant monsters, rabbits, robots & astronauts, is FREE TO DOWNLOAD RIGHT NOW!


Whose Doctor? Reflections on a Time Lord, featuring 9 Doctor Who essays & poems, including Adam's "Donna Noble Has Been Saved" poem, is only $5!


Man Bites Dog, Adam's novel about posties, poets, dobermans & Angela Lansbury is only $2!


Not Quite the Man for the Job, Adam's award-winning poetry collection, is also only $2!

ta-wit ta-woo
Also I Write This Twitter Fiction Thing Called Aramis Fox
Quelle Grammage!
Look for the latest issue of Jutchy Ya Ya at your local Chewton post office. #Chewton #zines My boon companion on this working from home Friday. Kudos to you little orange jumpsuited elephant headed dude! This beach house is also a time machine. Long live cassettes. Slipstream doggie.

Join 802 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 802 other followers

