The twitter fiction thing – 100 posts in 100 days

There’s this thing called One Hundred Days to Make Me a Better Person, part of the London Word Festival. The idea is that people dob themselves in to do one thing once a day for 100 days in order to improve their lives in some way.

I’ve got some residual guilt in the wake of my abject failure at NaNoWriMo last month. I wrote on four out of 30 days to produce a grand total of 2552 words, falling 47,448 words and 26 days short of the universally accepted NaNoWriMo goal. Which pretty much sucks.

So when I heard about this One Hundred Days thing I latched onto its potential for writerly redemption and signed up to create a new post for Aramis Fox, my ongoing twitter fiction (see right-hand sidebar on this blog’s front page for the latest three entries) every day between now and March 11, 2010.

As of this morning 661 people have pledged various once-every-day-for-100-days activities, including masturbating furiously,  singing on the way to work, improving their posture and making someone smile.

There are heaps of creativity-related pledges too – plays, poems, photos, songs –  and while sticking to a writing schedule might not seem to be the most obvious way to make oneself a better person, I’m generally happier when I actually meet the writing commitments I make to myself, and when I’m happier I’m nicer to everyone around me, and that’s all the justification I feel that I need.

About

Poet. Author. Beard. Husband. Dad. Four chickens. Dog. Cat. I can sometimes fix my lawnmower.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in the twitter novel thing, the writing process
One comment on “The twitter fiction thing – 100 posts in 100 days
  1. […] that in mind I hereby publicly declare my intention to recommence my 100-posts-in-100-days twitter novel commitment, which the observant among you will note has been lying fallow for more than sixty days  (insert […]

Leave a Reply

About Adam

I'm the author of the poetry collections The Third Fruit is a Bird and Not Quite the Man for the Job, the novel Man Bites Dog and the short story collection Heroes and Civilians.
contact: adamatsya@gmail.com
Like what you read?
Go off-blog with Adam's ebooks!


Not Quite the Man for the Job, Adam's award-winning poetry collection, is only $2!


Heroes And Civilians, featuring Stories about superheroes, octuplets, giant monsters, rabbits, robots & astronauts, is FREE TO DOWNLOAD RIGHT NOW!


Man Bites Dog, Adam's novel about posties, poets, dobermans & Angela Lansbury is also only $2!

ta-wit ta-woo
Quelle Grammage!
this is a very well made poem. it's called "Travelling Through the Dark". *shudder* #williamstafford I am binge watchin star trek voyager right now and am gobsmacked by the recurring theme of helping out your friends and being nice to strangers even when theyre frightening because its the right thing to do. where has this theme gone when it comes to the stories we celebrate and share with each other? cool as... if you told me this was the last minke drink machine in the country i would believe you
Categories
